Heart & Comfort Crochet

Crochet and Knitting Thoughts and Musings

Swap Hook Sizes September 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Lindsey Stephens @ 3:31 am
Tags: , , ,

I received my swap package from my partner today (for the Favorite Color Swap on Crochetville). It came all the way from England, and I was very excited to see what was inside. One of the purple items was a crochet hook. I looked at the handle and it said “9.00mm”. I thought to myself “ok, but what is that? an M hook?” I spent a full minute rotating the hook around trying to find where they put the letter designation. I was getting really frustrated till finally I had a realization. The hook is from the UK. Letters are size designators in the US crochet system, not the British one. Oops. I felt a little silly, but a quick flip through The Crochet Answer Book by Edie Eckman (a life saver in so many situations) yielded the answer: a 9.00mm hook is generally an M or N size hook.

 

Leave a Reply

