Heart & Comfort Crochet

Crochet and Knitting Thoughts and Musings

The Story Behind the Carrot March 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Lindsey Stephens @ 11:36 pm
Tags:

One of my first published patterns just came out in the April 2009 issue of Crochet World. It’s called Kitty’s Carrot. This catnip toy is crocheted in Red Heart Designer Sport.

The inspiration for this project came from my then newly formed interest in gardening. Before moving to Connecticut two years ago, I had spent my entire life in the Texas heat. We never had a real winter, and I never appreciated greenery and Spring. Well, after my first snow-laden Winter up North, I was very excited to see greenery popping back up. It seemed like every store in town was selling seeds of one kind or another. I decided to try a container vegetable garden. It worked out great, and I loved be able to grow food for the dinner table. One of the items we (Daughter and I) planted was carrots. I was looking for a way to incorporate my love of gardening into my crochet and came up with this project. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

