Heart & Comfort Crochet

Crochet and Knitting Thoughts and Musings

Save the Crochet! August 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Lindsey Stephens @ 11:23 am
Tags: ,

I’ve spent the past couple of Sundays going to tag sales. What better way to spend 4 hours and only spend $3? Well, I keep coming across lots and lots and lots of crocheted items. What really gets to me are the thread pieces. One estate sale had a pile of crocheted thread doilies, and I mean BIG doilies. These pieces took someone hours and hours to make and they were being sold for $1.

Part of me wants to buy up all these homeless crochet bits. I want to save them from whatever fate awaits them if they don’t sell (shudder). But where would I put them all? What would I do with them?

Any ideas?

 

4 Responses to “Save the Crochet!”

  1. Steph Says:

    Buy them all and figure out later what to do with them

  2. Brenda Says:

    Wow–$1….that’s a bargain! I’d sew together for blankets, curtains, or tablecloths. Sewn onto plain material to make curtains, and quilts. Sew them on T-shirts. Also on t-shirts, if placed in good area, could cut back of sewed area for cutwork look. Could be sewn onto towels for guest towels. Have lots of gifts ready! I wish I was in your shoes–the fun I’d have! Place small size ones on canned lid gifts. Decorate a tree as garland or ornaments.

    • Lindsey Stephens Says:

      Great ideas! Not sure where you are located, but check your local tag and estate sales. You might be pleasantly surprised!


Leave a Reply

